Copenhagen’s former Stock Exchange was built between 1619 and 1623 on the orders of Christian IV, to a design by Lorenz van Steenwinckel, who died before building began and was succeeded by his brother Hans. Today, the building houses the city’s Chamber of Commerce and is not open to the public, but its stunning Renaissance façade, copper roofs, numerous gables and unusual spire have made it one of Copenhagen’s best-known sights. Its sleek 54 m (177 ft) spire, carved to resemble the entwined tails of four dragons, was originally built in 1625, was renovated in 1775, and is now a city landmark. Topping the spire are three crowns representing Denmark, Sweden and Norway. Trade in goods continued at Børsen until 1857, when it was bought by a private association of wholesalers who pledged to maintain the historic building.