The Danish parliament’s lower house is called the Folketinget. “Left-wing” MPs are seated on the left and “right-wing” MPs are seated on the right in a semicircle for the 179 members. The majority of the palace is taken up by the offices of the civil officials. The duties of Queen Margrethe II, who has separate offices, include presiding over the State Council’s weekly sessions and the yearly state opening of parliament in early October.

Table of Contents