Gammeltorv (Old Square) and Nytorv (New Square), which are divided by the Nygade part of the Strget promenade, are the two distinct regions that make up Nytorv, despite the fact that it seems to be one large square. Gammeltorv, to the northwest, was a bustling market center in the 14th century. These days, the market is dominated by vendors offering lovely handicrafts and fresh produce.
The elaborate Caritasspringvandet (Charity Fountain), which was constructed in 1609, is located in the middle of the plaza. This Renaissance gem shows a pregnant woman leading another kid by the hand while holding one child in her arms as a sign of pity and charity. Both the woman’s breasts and the child who is peeing at her feet are dripping with water (the holes were blocked for reasons of decency in the 19th century). Christian IV ordered the fountain to highlight his benevolent qualities to the people.
Established in 1606, Nytorv served as a government execution site for a considerable amount of time. Shortly after a fire destroyed the city hall in 1795, the squares were brought together and took on their current shape. Still visible on the pavement of Nytorv is the shape of the city hall.
Christian Frederik Hansen, who worked on reconstructing Copenhagen following a fire in 1795, designed the stunning Neo-Classical Domhuset (Court House) on the south side of Nytorv, which was finished in 1815. The Court House was rebuilt using elements that were taken from the destroyed Christiansborg Slot, and the finished building has the feel of an old temple. The structure served as the city hall for a while before becoming the fifth location for the local government. The city hall was relocated to the Rådhus. in the beginning of the 20th century. The Jutland Code’s first sentence, “With law the land should be constructed,” is cited in the inscription on the façade of the Domhuset.